Customer reviews for PUMA Whirlwind Classic Men's Sneakers

PUMA Whirlwind Classic Men's Sneakers

Back when running was jogging and style was sweatbands (read: the 1980s), the PUMA Whirlwind hit the scene in a mash-up of nylon and suede paired with a distinctive, luggy bottom. Fast forward to today: its re-issue feels fresh in bold colors and perfect with a pair of jeans. (Sweatbands no longer required.) Features: Nylon upper with suede overlays and synthetic PUMA Formstrip T-toe construction Lace closure for a snug fit Cushioned midsole for comfort Grippy rubber outsole with lug pattern for added stability and grip Woven PUMA Logo label at tongue, with PUMA Cat Logo at heel PUMA Formstrip at medial and lateral sides PUMA Whirlwind callout at lateral side Weight: 9.7 ounces (size 10)
Overall rating:
4.593 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(86 reviews) 86
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 86 reviews
5 Stars
61
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
80 out of 8693%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Whirlwind Classic Men's Sneakers
Review 1 for Whirlwind Classic Men's Sneakers
Width: 
Average
Too narrow
Average
Too wide
Comfort: 
Love it!
Just okay
Love it!
Love it!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedApril 21, 2015

Lightweight, comfortable, quasi-athletic shoes

Customer avatar
jrad00
,Florida, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Usage frequency:Daily
Yes/No:Yes
I got these puppies after getting hooked by the vintage blue and white 80's look and because of the many good reviews. Looked at the size chart, measured my foot to match the correct size, and they fit perfectly. I have a narrow foot with a high arch so if these shoes run narrow I wouldn't notice but I will say that it's very comfortable. I could wear them all day and I do..
The shoes are incredibly light weight. I had some Adidas Sambas previously and I liked them but they weren't that comfortable to be honest. The soles were kinda heavy because they are built a little too well. These are much less burdensome which is great for me because i kick the ball around with my kids at soccer practice and games which comes out to be about 3-4 times a week.
The gummy feeling on the soles is a bit strange at first but I don't even notice anymore. I'm not a fan of the pattern on the soles either but it's certainly not a big deal. I liked the soles on the older Whirlwind models a little better.
Overall the shoe is great and i recommend them
Casual wear, lightweight atheletics
ProsValue for money, Quality, Perfect fit, Style/Design
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Whirlwind Classic Men's Sneakers
Size: 
True to size
Too small
True to size
Very large
Width: 
Average
Too narrow
Average
Too wide
Comfort: 
Great
Just okay
Great
Love it!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedApril 20, 2015

Perfect

Customer avatar
Micca
,Paradise, CA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Usage frequency:Weekly
Yes/No:Yes
I have been wearing puma since the dawn of time! I'm in love the product. I tell everyone how amazing you company is.
I'm a customer for life
ProsPerfect fit
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Whirlwind Classic Men's Sneakers
Size: 
True to size
Too small
True to size
Very large
Width: 
Average
Too narrow
Average
Too wide
Comfort: 
Love it!
Just okay
Love it!
Love it!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedApril 18, 2015

love puma's

Customer avatar
skokie
,Illinois, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Usage frequency:Daily
Yes/No:Yes
Great comfort and design. love the classic look of puma.
everyday use
ProsValue for money, Quality, Perfect fit, Style/Design
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Whirlwind Classic Men's Sneakers
Size: 
True to size
Too small
True to size
Very large
Width: 
Average
Too narrow
Average
Too wide
Comfort: 
Great
Just okay
Great
Love it!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedApril 8, 2015

Excellent product

Customer avatar
Catflyer
,Miami
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Yes/No:Yes
Very nice product, delivery on time good quality love it
My personality
ProsStyle/Design
ConsColor selection
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Whirlwind Classic Men's Sneakers
Comfort: 
Love it!
Just okay
Love it!
Love it!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedApril 7, 2015

comfortable and stylish and light

Customer avatar
Chuck83
,Denver, CO, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Yes/No:Yes
I had a pair of pumas just like these (I unfortunately lost them) and I really missed them so I bought another pair, this time in another color scheme. I wear them for casual dress and to work. They are mad comfortable and go with just about anything. I wouldn't recommend them for active sports, but they are worth every penny. I have a narrow foot so they fit me just right. Great shoes
work, casual, and walking around town
ProsValue for money, Quality, Perfect fit, Style/Design
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Whirlwind Classic Men's Sneakers
Size: 
Small
Too small
Small
Very large
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedApril 2, 2015

Good shoes but depends on what you're looking for.

Customer avatar
OK6502
I've tended to wear Converse shoes for what seems like years now and I needed a change to something with a little more support. At the same time I really don't like the increasingly more common clunkier shoe design.
These Pumas are a good middle ground. Classic esthetics, more comfortable than an average flat but not with so much padding it feels like I'm wearing a platform or something.
About the only cons I can think of is that they're a bit tighter around the toes than I expected. They're also quite narrow which is to expected. There also isn't a lot of wiggle room so if you're looking to put an insole in there you'll first have to yank out Puma's insert (fair warning it's glued in). Also the soles, being mini studs, mean your traction is better on grass and grass like surfaces (turf and gravel for example) but worse on concrete - I wore them after it had rained the other day and was surprised by how much less traction I was getting on the sidewalk.
Also, major caveat, I got these on sale. For the price I paid I'm quite happy with them. I just wish there had been more colors on sale.
ProsValue for money, Style/Design
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Whirlwind Classic Men's Sneakers
Size: 
True to size
Too small
True to size
Very large
Comfort: 
Love it!
Just okay
Love it!
Love it!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedMarch 31, 2015

Stylish and practical

Customer avatar
jenX72
,Oregon, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Yes/No:Yes
This style hits the mark as far as functionality and style. I work on my feet all day, and my Whirlwinds are always comfortable with enough support, and I always get compliments on the color (burgundy with bright red) and design (especially those people who grew up in the late 70's-early 80's and remember the style).
Best feature: They run narrow!
Worst feature: They are just a wee bit loose in the ankle. This might be exclusive to my feet, which as probably guessed from above are quite thin.
All in all, my favorite pair of kicks!
Casual and work wear.
ProsValue for money, Quality, Style/Design
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Whirlwind Classic Men's Sneakers
Size: 
True to size
Too small
True to size
Very large
Width: 
Average
Too narrow
Average
Too wide
Comfort: 
Great
Just okay
Great
Love it!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedMarch 31, 2015

Puma's Best Shoe

Customer avatar
TralfazGoldfarb
,San Luis Obispo, CA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Yes/No:Yes
I wore my last pair to death, comfortable and stylish enough to wear almost anywhere. Wouldn't it be great if Puma let customers select custom colors? Yes, yes it would.
Casual fun or office strolling
ProsValue for money, Quality, Perfect fit, Style/Design
ConsColor selection
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Whirlwind Classic Men's Sneakers
Size: 
True to size
Too small
True to size
Very large
Width: 
Average
Too narrow
Average
Too wide
Comfort: 
Great
Just okay
Great
Love it!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedMarch 29, 2015

Addicted to Puma

Customer avatar
PumaTru
,MI
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Yes/No:Yes
3rd pair. Love the Whirlwinds. My 7 yr old has matching pair and he loves them.
everything
ProsValue for money, Quality, Perfect fit, Style/Design
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Whirlwind Classic Men's Sneakers
Size: 
True to size
Too small
True to size
Very large
Width: 
Narrow
Too narrow
Narrow
Too wide
Comfort: 
Love it!
Just okay
Love it!
Love it!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedMarch 29, 2015

Great look and comfort

Customer avatar
monicaalisha
,Virginia, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
Usage frequency:Weekly
Yes/No:Yes
The shoes is narrow,might be a good idea to get a half of size bigger.
ecercise and walking
ProsValue for money, Quality, Perfect fit, Style/Design
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.