Customer reviews for PUMA Mostro Perf Leather Shoes

PUMA Mostro Perf Leather Shoes

The scene: London, 1997. The vision: dream up a contemporary athletic shoe that straddles the line between sport and fashion. The product: the Mostro. Our design team took inspiration from PUMA's track and field back catalogue, specifically a brush spike from deep within the archives. The unique silhouette that resulted did double, triple, quadruple duty when called upon – it was as comfortable on a bike ride to work as it was put-together for a casual lunch meeting or sporty for a weekend kicking around with friends. It embodied fast-paced design for modern, urban life. It was a concept we dubbed "sportlifestyle." And it dared to be different than everything else out there. Features: Leather upper with allover perf detailing Slip-on construction with strap detail and hook-and-loop closure for easy on/off Breathable OrthoLite® sockliner for optimum fit and comfort Rubber outsole for grip PUMA Formstrip at lateral side PUMA No. 1 Logo at strap, with PUMA Cat Logo at heel Weight: 10.7 ounces (size 10)
Overall rating:
3.992 / 5
4
 / 
5
(132 reviews) 132
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 132 reviews
5 Stars
74
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
13
1 Star
13
101 out of 13277%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Mostro Perf Leather Shoes
Review 1 for Mostro Perf Leather Shoes
Size: 
True to size
Too small
True to size
Very large
Comfort: 
Great
Just okay
Great
Love it!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedDecember 15, 2014

Great! one hitch

Customer avatar
Fullmoon
,Wellington, FL, USA / Sheridan Wy
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Usage frequency:Daily
Yes/No:Yes
I have bought at least a dozen pairs of these. I wish they would bring back the camo rip stop.
The only glitch is all my shoes wear out in the same spot. The lining in the heal develops a hole which rubs holes in my $15 thor lo socks.
ProsValue for money, Perfect fit, Style/Design
ConsColor selection
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mostro Perf Leather Shoes
Size: 
True to size
Too small
True to size
Very large
Width: 
Too wide
Too narrow
Too wide
Too wide
Comfort: 
Love it!
Just okay
Love it!
Love it!
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
PostedDecember 7, 2014

most comfortable shoe ever but not a unisex shoe

Customer avatar
Cornballs
,Columbus, OH, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Usage frequency:Daily
Yes/No:Yes
I have purchased 4 pairs when made in womens sizing.
But now in Mens or "Unisex" this shoe is way too wide and not worth the money. I am VERY disappointed in the companies switch to Mens only. I have met a couple other women who feel the same way I do.
men only
ProsValue for money, Quality, Style/Design
Consdoes not fit a womens foot
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mostro Perf Leather Shoes
Size: 
True to size
Too small
True to size
Very large
Width: 
Narrow
Too narrow
Narrow
Too wide
Comfort: 
Good
Just okay
Good
Love it!
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedNovember 28, 2014

Has this shoe changed?

Customer avatar
dp745
,Milwaukee, WI, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Usage frequency:Daily
Yes/No:Yes
I first fell in love with this shoe about 6 years ago, and bought 4 pair all different colors. I really enjpyed the relaxed fit and the comfortable soles.. Then, something changed... First of all, the soft canvas version was discontinued, then, the color selection was downgraded to only 2, and finally, the shoe doesn't seem to be as comfortable. I hope that you can go back to the original shoe, because it was a winner for me as far as a go anywhere, do anything, comfortable walking shoe...
walking anywhere
ProsStyle/Design
ConsColor selection, no cloth version...
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mostro Perf Leather Shoes
Size: 
True to size
Too small
True to size
Very large
Width: 
Average
Too narrow
Average
Too wide
Comfort: 
Love it!
Just okay
Love it!
Love it!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedNovember 27, 2014

love it

Customer avatar
sherifw45
,District of Columbia, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Usage frequency:Daily
Yes/No:Yes
I'm already on my second pair of shoes, I have be waiting for months to be on sale the buy 3rd one, please let me know when you have it on sale
walk and
ProsValue for money, Quality, Perfect fit, Style/Design, it last for ever
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mostro Perf Leather Shoes
Size: 
True to size
Too small
True to size
Very large
Width: 
Narrow
Too narrow
Narrow
Too wide
Comfort: 
Just okay
Just okay
Just okay
Love it!
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
PostedNovember 23, 2014

So Disappointed ...

Customer avatar
nkalx
,Ottawa, ON
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Yes/No:Yes
I recently bought a pair of these through the website. This would have been my third pair of the same shoes, I've been wearing the style for 11 years (since 2003). My first two pairs were amazing, they were incredibly comfortable and very durable, each lasted over five years of almost daily ware. I used those shoes to walk all over Europe and hike mountains in Lake Placid. They were great for serious walking adventures.
Unfortunately, something has happened to the shoe I once loved so much. Puma has done something to the fit of the shoe that makes them excruciatingly uncomfortable. I am being completely serious, no hyperbole. The 'tongue' of the shoe digs into the top of my foot. I can't wear them just standing around, let alone walking around.
In addition they are narrower than my previous pair, which I tried on for comparison. My previous pairs were unisex, but this time I had to buy a male size from the female section of the website? These are very narrow, clearly a women's shoe, what is with the men's sizes?
Also, Puma doesn't offer free shipping to Canada, so sending back unwearable shoes is going to cost me at least thirty bucks. Bonus points for really ruining my day.
In conclusion, I loved these shoes in days past, they were my favorite shoes in the world. The high arches were so comfortable, and the velcro just made everything so much easier. I was so excited to finally buy a new pair to replace my old pair which are falling apart. But once I tried them on, I knew the shoe I had once loved so much and had worn literally all over the world had changed. No longer was I walking on a high arched cloud. Now I was just standing on a nightmare of knives sticking into my ankles. I am so disappointed to have to begin a new search for an amazing walking shoe. I thought my days of searching were over.
Noone, bring back the old shoe!!
ProsQuality, Style/Design, high arches
Consuncomfortable, narrow
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mostro Perf Leather Shoes
Size: 
Small
Too small
Small
Very large
Width: 
Too narrow
Too narrow
Too narrow
Too wide
Comfort: 
Just okay
Just okay
Just okay
Love it!
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedSeptember 11, 2014

Beautiful but not right

Customer avatar
Walker
,Portland, OR, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
Yes/No:Yes
These are beautiful shoes but on my feet they were far too narrow across the bridge, and the velcro strap was not long enough to compensate. Back they go.
Given the number of complaints about sizing--both too large and too small--Puma needs to rethink its unisex strategy.
ProsStyle/Design
ConsExpensive, sizing
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mostro Perf Leather Shoes
Size: 
True to size
Too small
True to size
Very large
Width: 
Narrow
Too narrow
Narrow
Too wide
Comfort: 
Great
Just okay
Great
Love it!
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
PostedAugust 10, 2014

In a word, disappointing

Customer avatar
AWwwww
The shoes are comfortable, especially the soles, but a bit too tight/narrow. It seems like they won't last very long at all, the leather on top of the foot already has a lot of creases and is beginning to look more worn than they should (after one week!). They're beginning to look like a pair of orthopedic shoes.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mostro Perf Leather Shoes
Size: 
Small
Too small
Small
Very large
Width: 
Wide
Too narrow
Wide
Too wide
Comfort: 
Just okay
Just okay
Just okay
Love it!
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
PostedAugust 10, 2014

bring back women's sizes

Customer avatar
Cleveland
Used to be my faves. no such thing as Unisex shoes. I loved these when women's sizes were available but tried the Unisex (in two sizes per conversion chart) because I trusted Puma. No more.
Consunisex doesn't fit women
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Mostro Perf Leather Shoes
Size: 
True to size
Too small
True to size
Very large
Width: 
Average
Too narrow
Average
Too wide
Comfort: 
Love it!
Just okay
Love it!
Love it!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedAugust 7, 2014

most comfortable shoe I own

Customer avatar
Veta
,California
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Usage frequency:Weekly
Bought a pair of pink mostro perf shoes on sale several years ago and didn't wear them. I now have foot problems and have been unable to find comfortable shoes I can wear. I began wearing these shoes and they are the only shoes I am able to wear for several hours. I found them on this web site and plan to order the colors available. They cradle my feet and I love them.
casual wear
ProsValue for money, Quality, Perfect fit, Style/Design, fit like a glove
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Mostro Perf Leather Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedAugust 4, 2014

This shoe fits perfect and is the best "go to" shoe I own.

Customer avatar
Deanafilms
,Denver, CO, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Yes/No:Yes
I have been looking at this shoe for several month as I have been doing a lot to traveling to humid climates and getting blisters in all of my sandals. NO more, these shoes fit like a glove…a leather glove. Comfortable, stable for any surface, slip into easily, good looking. I have had several compliments by men and women. I highly recommend this shoe and request that your product team consider producing it in more colors.
Deana
sporting around town to extensive travel
ProsValue for money, Quality, Perfect fit, Style/Design
ConsColor selection
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.